Tag Archives: True Grit

2011 Oscar: Best Screenplay Nominees!

19 Feb

By: Open Book

It’s very rare any attention is given to the writers of a film. Yes, films are a collaborative effort but writers are often overlooked. So this year Linked-In-Hollywood would like to focus on where it all begins, with an idea. The writers nominated for an Academy Award this year are as follows:[1]

Best Writing: Adapted Screenplay

  • 127 Hours: Screenplay by Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy
  • The Social Network: Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin
  • Toy Story 3: Screenplay by Michael Arndt; Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich
  • True Grit: Written for the screen by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
  • Winter’s Bone: Adapted for the screen by Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini

Best Writing: Original Screenplay

  • Another Year: Written by Mike Leigh
  • The Fighter: Screenplay by Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Story by Keith Dorrington, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson
  • Inception: Written by Christopher Nolan
  • The Kids Are All Right: Written by Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg
  • The King’s Speech: Screenplay by David Seidler

Continue reading

The 2011 BAFTA Awards: Voting Process Explained!!

12 Feb

By: Ozzie20

Tonight the 64th BAFTA awards ceremony takes place. The red carpet will lead the talent into the Royal Opera House, where twenty four shining masks are waiting to go home with the winner of their category. But how are the winners chosen?

6,500 BAFTA members start off with around 250 films submitted in the first round. Each member can vote up to 12 times in each category. The top 15 in each category go through to the second round. For this stage the members get to vote 5 times for each category and the top 5 in each category go on through to the final. In this round the BAFTA members only get to vote in six categories: Best Film, Best Film Not in the English Language, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress. Only one vote is allowed and the one with the most votes wins the award. The other categories are voted by members with experience in those fields.  However, the public votes the Best Rising Star.[1] Continue reading